Anything from the Atari 400 to the Falcon resides here.

Moderators: Flack, Ice Breaker, Phosphor Dot Fossils

Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Ice Breaker » Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:58 am

http://www.particles.org - http://www.amigacd32.com
User avatar
Ice Breaker
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Playing with my miggies

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby SteveW » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:37 pm

Cool! I wasn't aware you could do that through a C64. I would have expected something more modern.

I guess I know who to turn to if and when I ever need a reproduction made. The only game I ever wanted a repro of was Sega's unreleased Ixion. I had a guy on Atari Age up in the northern lands of Canuckia make one for me. Totally worth it, it's so much better than emulation.
User avatar
SteveW
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: Grand Prairie, TX

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Ice Breaker » Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:48 am

Yup, the C64 doesn't care what the data is that you're putting on the EPROM. I'm sure there's easier ways of doing this, but I happen to have a burner for the C64 lying around so..
http://www.particles.org - http://www.amigacd32.com
User avatar
Ice Breaker
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Playing with my miggies

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Flack » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:19 pm

Agreed, that's pretty bad ass.

I wish I had waited a bit before I bought my Atari 2600 flashcart. I have the A2600, which allows you to flash (get ready for it) ONE game on it at a time. I think I paid about the same price as the Harmony cart goes for these days. :/
User avatar
Flack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:30 pm

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby SteveW » Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:48 pm

So, how many ROMs can you put on a single Atari cart anyway? Is it possible to make multicarts with the set-up you've got or does that require different equipment?

Don't worry, I won't ask you to make me anything. I can't think of many reproduced Atari games I especially need at the moment.
User avatar
SteveW
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: Grand Prairie, TX

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Flack » Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:02 pm

Flack wrote:Agreed, that's pretty bad ass.

I wish I had waited a bit before I bought my Atari 2600 flashcart. I have the A2600, which allows you to flash (get ready for it) ONE game on it at a time. I think I paid about the same price as the Harmony cart goes for these days. :/

Wow, time flies. Mine's actually called the A26 Maxicart. I Googled it and I bought mine in October of 2004 for $85.
User avatar
Flack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:30 pm

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby SteveW » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:33 pm

I've got a multicart too, a 256-in-1 dipswitch model. Sadly, I'm pretty sure I've lost the master list of switch settings/games.
User avatar
SteveW
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: Grand Prairie, TX

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Ice Breaker » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:39 am

SteveW wrote:So, how many ROMs can you put on a single Atari cart anyway? Is it possible to make multicarts with the set-up you've got or does that require different equipment?

Don't worry, I won't ask you to make me anything. I can't think of many reproduced Atari games I especially need at the moment.


4K is the maximum amount of space that the 2600 can see without bank switching. The reason is, they used a scaled down version of the 6502 (the 6507) that's missing all that neat addressing. So making a 4K cartridge (which is a good portion of the carts) is very easy. Go above that amount, you have to use multiple EPROMs, lots of special logic, etc. Is it possible to do? Obviously, but I'm not smart enough.
http://www.particles.org - http://www.amigacd32.com
User avatar
Ice Breaker
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2173
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:59 pm
Location: Playing with my miggies

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby Flack » Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:35 pm

I bought a Harmony cart. It arrived today.
User avatar
Flack
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:30 pm

Re: Building a 2600 cart...

Postby SteveW » Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:54 pm

I've recently made some Atari carts too, but not quite the same thing... the bummer of the Atari 5200 cart is that I have an old Xbox 360 USB hub inside with four ports, but the damn screw in the center of the cart blocks me from using four drives. And the 2600 hub has four ports, but one's turned sideways and I don't want to put in the effort of rewiring it to add a fourth USB drive. My Macbook Air doesn't have a lot of storage space, I keep these around to haul all my shows and things around on.

I had an earlier one built into an E.T. cartridge, but I striped the drives into a RAID, and the oldest of the USB sticks died, hosing all my data. Plus, I guess making them into a RAID made them act squirrely. For example, it had to be plugged in at startup, otherwise it might not read it, or could even cause a kernel freak-out and crash the ol' Powerbook. So I don't bother nowadays.

Sorry for the terrible quality pictures.
Attachments
Pac-Men.jpg
Pac-Men.jpg (198.3 KiB) Viewed 1952 times
User avatar
SteveW
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:48 pm
Location: Grand Prairie, TX

Return to Atari Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 119 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 3:38 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest